AMO 2014 election results, reports

Print Preview

AMO National President

486 (52.71 percent) Paul Doell

436 (47.29 percent) Thomas J. Bethel

AMO National Secretary-Treasurer

476 (51.68 percent) Charles Murdock

445 (48.32 percent) José E. Leonard

The following report was submitted by John Seibel, president of TrueBallot, Inc.

TrueBallot, Inc. was appointed Impartial Balloting Agency to supervise the conduct of the Ballot with respect to the Election of certain National Officers. The ballot was tabulated December 8, 2014.

The ballot and materials were approved as to form. A total of 3019 ballots were sent to the general membership. A total of 106 voters were sent duplicate ballots. 39 voters were added to the list. 46 ballots were returned as undeliverable by the USPS. The balloting period was from September 5, 2014 to 9:00 a.m. on December 1, 2014. The United States Post Office in Dania Beach, FL acted as Depositor for receipt of all ballots. TrueBallot, Inc. was authorized to act as Coordinator during the balloting period to mail duplicate ballots to any member on authorized request for a duplicate ballot and to keep a record of all duplicate ballots mailed.

The undersigned and observers retrieved the returned mail ballots from the post office and returned them to the count site on December 8, 2014.

Of the Ballots mailed to the general membership entitled to vote, 930 Ballots were returned, registered against the list of eligible voters, and any duplicates or ineligible ballots were removed. The mail ballots were removed from their secret ballot envelopes and 930 ballots were counted.

After the ballots were registered, the ballot committee opened the envelopes, optically imaged the ballots and processed them to obtain the data therefrom. Rules were applied to the data so as to remove void data from the tally. Questionable ballots were audited and corrected as needed.

The results of the Balloting are herewith certified and are attached hereto. It is our opinion as Impartial Balloting Agency that the results of the Balloting are true and accurate, the Ballots were properly counted, and rigid safeguards were maintained to protect the secrecy of the Ballot. At the conclusion of the counting, all Ballots and material were placed in appropriate containers, sealed and delivered to the organization. A CD-ROM with all of the ballot data and ballot images was delivered along with the ballot materials.


WHEREAS, in accordance with Article XI, Section 4 of the AMO National Constitution, a Tallying Committee of AMO members in good standing was elected at a special meeting held in the Port of Dania Beach (Headquarters), FL during the week prior to the regular December 8, 2014 membership meeting, and

WHEREAS, in accordance with Article XI, Section 4 of the AMO National Constitution, the Tallying Committee gathered in the Port of Dania Beach (Headquarters), FL on December 8, 2014 for the purpose of assisting the Independent Mailing and Balloting Service selected to conduct the 2014 AMO Election of National Officers and Executive Board Members, and

WHEREAS, in accordance with Article XI, Section 4 of the AMO National Constitution, the Tallying Committee in conjunction with the Independent Mailing and Balloting Service undertook on December 8, 2014 to (1) proceed to the Depository to remove the returned ballots from the Depository and placed them in a sealed box for return to National Headquarters; (2) return to National Headquarters and conducted a verification of the eligibility of those members in good standing whose ballots were returned, and check and count of the returned ballots; and (3) prepared a report setting forth a complete accounting of all ballots and ballot envelopes, and reconciliation of the ballots and ballot envelopes with the rosters and verification lists of membership. A copy of said report prepared by the Independent Mailing and Balloting Service is attached hereto.

THEREFORE, having read the attached report, the Tallying Committee by their signatures below certify that they concur with its contents and that they have fulfilled their obligations in overseeing the count of the ballots for the 2014 AMO Election of Certain National Officers and Executive Board Members as set forth in Article XI, Section 4, of the AMO National Constitution.

Dated: December 8, 2014

The report was agreed to and signed by the members of the Tallying Committee: Frederick Reyes, John Hewitt, Luis Correa, Edgar Davis, Frank Celino, Donald Lindsay and Steven Walters.

ISO 9001: 2008 Quality Management System - Certificate No. 33975